A child with a disability may be eligible for special education services.  Under the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) regulations, there are currently 13 categories of disability:  (Read Section 300.8 Child with a disability):

  1. Autism
  2. Intellectual disability
  3. Emotional disturbance
  4. Orthopedic impairment
  5. Hearing impairment
  6. Deafness
  7. Speech or language impairment
  8. Visual impairment including blindness
  9. Traumatic brain injury
  10. Other health impairment
  11. Specific learning disability
  12. Deaf-blindness
  13. Multiple disabilities

A child must also be in need of specially designed instruction as determined by an evaluation team.

An evaluation is done to determine if your child meets the criteria listed. The child must have a disability and need specially designed instruction to be found eligible.  See the Timelines and Evaluation pages for more information about the process.

The owner of this website has made a commitment to accessibility and inclusion, please report any problems that you encounter using the contact form on this website. This site uses the WP ADA Compliance Check plugin to enhance accessibility.